Shimmer Ray

Shimmer Ray
UnitMech AirshipCost: 1ATK: 3 HP: 4
Flying, Fading 2 (Arrives with two time runes. Remove one each upkeep. When you remove the last, sacrifice this.)
Discard a card → Add a time rune to this.
PurplePast Tech II



Card-Specific Rulings
You can't discard a card DURING your upkeep to save it from dying from fading. You can only use abilities during your own main phase unless they are specifically marked otherwise, such as "upkeep" abilities. — Sirlin
Fading X Rulings
If you remove the last time rune for some other reason than the fading ability, such as from Time Spiral, Seer, or Tinkerer, you still must sacrifice the fading thing. — Sirlin
If you somehow have something with fading in play with 0 time runes (probably because you made a copy of something if fading), it won't die from fading anymore. — sharpo
X is not a limit to the number of time runes you can have on that card. For example, you can play Shimmer Ray and discard 4 cards so that it has 6 time runes; you're not limited to 2 total. — Sirlin
Flying Rulings
As a conceptual shorthand, think about flying and anti-air as follows: Ground forces without anti-air can only shoot straight. They can never hit fliers, ever. Flying forces can shoot both straight and down. Anti-air forces can shoot both straight and up. This is never a handicap because even though they CAN hit patrolling fliers, they aren't forced to. As a patroller, you only stop an attacker if it's on the *same* level as you. Anti-air ground forces on patrol will shoot at fliers as they fly over. — Sirlin
Fliers can ignore patrollers that don't have flying. In other words, they can attack something else instead if you want. — Sirlin
Fliers cannot ignore flying patrollers. The usual rules of the patrol zone apply, meaning if you want to attack with a flier at all, that flier CAN attack patrolling fliers so it must do that rather than attack other things such as non-patrollers or tech buildings. — Sirlin
When a flier attacks another flier or gets attacked by another flier, they both deal combat damage to each other as usual. When a flier attacks a ground unit or hero without anti-air, the flier deals its combat damage to the ground thing and the ground thing does NOT deal any combat damage to the flier. Ground forces without anti-air cannot even attack a flier at all. Ground forces with anti-air can attack fliers and deal combat damage to them as usual when they do. — Sirlin