Liberty Gryphon

Liberty Gryphon
UnitGryphon IllusionCost: 3ATK: 5 HP: 5
(Illusions die when ◎ by spells or abilities.)
Flying, haste
Unstoppable, unattackable, and untargetable while you control an Illusion with any other name than Liberty Gryphon.
BlueTruth Tech III



Card-Specific Rulings
If you control a Liberty Gryphon and Mirror Illusion copy of Liberty Gryphon, those both have the name "Liberty Gryphon." If you don't control any Illusions other than those, then your Liberty Gryphons do not get the keywords: unstoppable, unattackable, untargetable. — Sirlin
Flying Rulings
As a conceptual shorthand, think about flying and anti-air as follows: Ground forces without anti-air can only shoot straight. They can never hit fliers, ever. Flying forces can shoot both straight and down. Anti-air forces can shoot both straight and up. This is never a handicap because even though they CAN hit patrolling fliers, they aren't forced to. As a patroller, you only stop an attacker if it's on the *same* level as you. Anti-air ground forces on patrol will shoot at fliers as they fly over. — Sirlin
Fliers can ignore patrollers that don't have flying. In other words, they can attack something else instead if you want. — Sirlin
Fliers cannot ignore flying patrollers. The usual rules of the patrol zone apply, meaning if you want to attack with a flier at all, that flier CAN attack patrolling fliers so it must do that rather than attack other things such as non-patrollers or tech buildings. — Sirlin
When a flier attacks another flier or gets attacked by another flier, they both deal combat damage to each other as usual. When a flier attacks a ground unit or hero without anti-air, the flier deals its combat damage to the ground thing and the ground thing does NOT deal any combat damage to the flier. Ground forces without anti-air cannot even attack a flier at all. Ground forces with anti-air can attack fliers and deal combat damage to them as usual when they do. — Sirlin
Haste Rulings
Haste allows things that came under your control this turn use exhaust abilities, which means abilities that have exhaust as part of the cost (that is, the exhaust symbol BEFORE an arrow.) Haste also allows units and heroes to attack that came under your control this turn. — Sirlin
Things do NOT need haste to become exhausted as the result of an effect. For example, you can play a unit then immediately exhaust it with Boot Camp because the exhaust is an effect there, not a cost. — Sirlin
Illusion Rulings
Illusions die immediately if they are targeted by a spell or ability. At the moment they are targeted, they die (and go to their owner's discard pile). That means if an effect would target an illusion and deal 3 damage to it, or target it and put a rune on it, the illusion is already dead and gone before the effect happens. It never actually takes the 3 damage or gets the rune in those examples. — Sirlin
Attacking an Illusion does not automatically kill it. Illusions only immediately die if they are targeted by a spell or ability. — Sirlin
"Illusion" is a subtype that a unit can have, it's not an ability. That means Spectral Hound, for example, does not have any abilities if Midori's middle ability checks for things "with no abilities". — Sirlin
Unstoppable Rulings
Having a detector (or a Tower add-on) doesn't help against the unstoppable keywords. Even then, unstoppable attackers can ignore patrollers. — Sirlin
Untargetable Rulings
Something that's untargetable still CAN be attacked. It can even be affected by some spells and abilities, but NOT spells or abilities that use the [target] symbol. — Sirlin